Race Status

Mercer, PA
Feels like: 73°F
Wind: 12mph SW
Humidity: 67%
Pressure: 29.59"Hg
UV index: 3
5 pm6 pm7 pm8 pm9 pm

Rainout Clinches Championships for Felmlee, Holden, Blazczak, Moore, Griffin and Gallagher

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:  Lou Long (412-760-9755)

Mercer, PA (September 10, 2011):  Mother Nature swept the racing card on the final night of points at Mercer Raceway Park.  The double point events will not be made up.  Consequently, all point leaders were declared champions in their respective divisions.

News of the cancellation must have come as a relief for three of the drivers, as racing action could have put their title hopes at risk.  Taking the Luxaire Heating & Cooling Sprint Cars by a small 17 point margin was Bob Felmlee.  Jimmy Holden topped the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modifieds by 29 points and Pete Blazczak led the way in the Big Dog R/C Center Mini Stocks by 47.  Rusty Moore clinched the Precise Racing Products Stock Car class by a wide margin, but he must now wait two weeks to see if he can break the track record for most wins in a season.  Darrin Gallagher grabbed his first title in the Big Daddy’s Speed Center Modified Lites, while veteran Guy Griffin became the first ever champion in the ti22 Outlaw Sprint Warriors.

Finishing second to Felmlee in the 410 Sprinters was Rod George.  Three youngsters completed the top five:  Brandon Spithaler, Adam Kekich and Brandon Matus.  Brent Matus, Scott Priester, Chris Best, Eric Williams and Gale Ruth, Jr. rounded out the top ten.

Frank Guidace fought hard with Holden week after week, but came up just a little short at the end of the points run for the 358 Modifieds.  Eric Gabany and Matt Reeher were third and fourth.  Kyle Fink barely edged out Rick Hall for fifth.  Positions seven through ten went to Lonnie Riggs, Dustin Martin, Ron Eperthener and Kevin Green.

Ed Haylett was closing fast on Pete Blazczak in the Mini Stocks, and needed the extra week of competition.  Troy Lehnortt, Michael Thompson and Rudy Troples were third through fifth.  Joel Wisser, Mike McConnell, Steve Longwell, Sr., Chase Anthony and Steve Longwell, Jr. will also be recognized at the annual banquet for their accomplishments.

Although Moore dominated the win list in the Stocks, he had plenty of fierce competition on the track.  Runner-up Russ Byler was one driver to knock him off during the season.  Bob McCann, Darrin Hyde and Brandon Johnston logged consistent runs to reach the top five.  Marty Warren, Terry Wheeler, Brian Wagner, Tony Spaghetti, and Andy Thompson ran sixth through tenth.

Darrin Gallagher topped Tom Kline in the Modified Lites.  The other podium spot went to Cody Bova.  Fourth and fifth were Andy Feil and Shane Pfeuffer.  Completing the top ten were Kotie Kirkbride, Jacob Bova, Andrew Bruce, Mark Marcucci and Brian Miller.

The 2011 season was the first time that Mercer Raceway Park presented two classes of winged Sprint Car racing.  The ti22 Performance Outlaw Sprint Warriors are nearly identical to the 410 Sprints ecept in the engine compartment.  These cars have smaller, more economical power plants.  Guy Griffin took his second Mercer point championship, the first coming over a decade ago in the Modifieds.  Behind him was his protege, Justiun Whitesell.  Dennis Wagner and Michael Bauer were third and fourth.  Jimmy Morris, Adam Anderson, Jacob Lagestee, Mike Lutz, Skip Daugherty and Harold Braden, Jr. were also in the top ten.

Racing will resume at Mercer Raceway Park on September 23-24, with the Little Guy Nationals.  Topping the card will be the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modifieds and Precise Racing Products Stock Cars.  The ti22 Outlaw Sprint Warriors, Big Daddy’s Speed Center Modified Lites and Big Dog R/C Center Mini Stocks will also compete.  Joining the fun will be the Micro Sprints for their lone appearance at the track.