Race Status

Mercer, PA
Feels like: 72°F
Wind: 9mph NNW
Humidity: 43%
Pressure: 30.14"Hg
UV index: 8
2 pm3 pm4 pm5 pm6 pm

Gillette Masters Mercer Enduro, Callahan Mini Stock Winner

The May Flowers 150 was the new name given to the oft-postponed Enduro at Mercer Raceway Park, but it was a familiar name, Tim Gillette, who came away with the grand prize. Gillette inherited the lead when Tim Callahan’s machine suddenly slowed after picking up debris on the speedway. Gillette led over 120 laps on his way to victory.

Callahan would not go away empty handed this day. He was awarded the win in the Full Bloom 25 after apparent victor, Andy Proper failed a post-race technical inspection. That race featured the Mini Stocks presented by Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking and Ray’s Racing Collectibles.

Callahan did not know of the officials’ final decision in the Mini Stock race when he rolled out onto the speedway for the Enduro. He had the pole position because he was the first racer to submit an entry of the annual event. As expected, he bolted out to an early advantage over RYan Boyd, Patrick Parlock, and Ronnie Boyd, Jr. Gillette was caught in traffic at the start, and hovered near the top five in the early going.

By lap 20, the cream rose to the top, and it became a two horse race between Callahan and Gillette. Greg Rockwell was in the third spot. The Boyd cars rounded out the top five.

However, misfortune soon struck Callahan. The rear control arm from another car got stuck in the front suspension of his car, and his pace slowed dramatically. He limped around for a couple of laps before pitting to have the debris removed. Callahan was able to return to the contest, several laps in arrears, and showed good speed again. His day ended some time later when a radiator hose dislodged and his car overheated.

Gillette ran a smooth and steady pace for the remainder of the race.

Before the halfway mark, a three car battle developed for the second spot. The contestants were George Settlemire, William Hurrrelbrink, and Brian Rydbom, who nearly missed the start of the race due to his late arrival. They continued to trade positions two through four for over forty laps! In the final third of the race, mechanical problems eliminated Settlemire and Hurrelbrink. Rydbom soldiered on, but his mount was slowing in the final stages of the race.

When the checkers fell, it was Gillette over Rydbom, and Larry Wagner, Jr. Chad Fry and the final starter, Jim Frank, completed the top five. Positions six through ten went to Dereck Frank, Terry Wheeler, Jr., Hurrelbrink, Rick Feely, and Steven Hill.

Sixty-one drivers started the race. There were three stoppages for safety issues, including a small fire in the pit area when transmission fluid leaked from a car that had retired from action. The fire was quickly suppressed. There were no injuries in any of the incidents.

In the Mini Stock Full Bloom 25, Eric Beggs jumped out to the early lead, but Callahan soon assumed command. Defending race winner, Tyler Fulton, moved into second, and he and Callahan put on an exciting show. Within a couple of laps, Proper joined the fray, making it a three car battle for the lead.

By lap 20, Fulton and Proper moved ahead of Callahan, and they started swapping the lead. With three laps to go, Proper was leading by a couple of car lengths. Fulton lost control when the right front wheel of his car broke, and he skid into the turn four wall, inflicting more damage on his car.

Proper took the checkers, with Callahan second, and Todd Kougher third. As noted, Proper was disqualified, moving the rest of the field up a notch.

May Flowers 150: Tim Gillette, Brian Rydbom, Larry Wagner, Jr., Chad Fry, Jim Frank, Dereck Frank, Terry Wheeler, Jr., William Hurrelbrink, Rick Feely, Steven Hill, Ryan Boyd, Nick Birkner, George Settlemire, Steveh Reeher, Ronnie Boyd, Jr., Jeff Manners, Cody Cooper, Justin Baily, Jason Shaw, Joshua Peebles, Tim Callahan, Greg Rockwell, Nick Steiger, James Hayer, Todd Hanlon, Curtis Phillips, Harry Schneider, Jason Easler, John Canter, II, Jacob Billyk, Don Peebles, Jeremiah Blystone, Shawn Lindemuth, Michael Nail, Skip Lindemuth, Thomas Wygant, Luke Rutsky, Aaron Hill, Tyler Palmer, Matthew Lydic, Jr., Rusty Cade, Randy Brazel, Bill Mellise, Craig Karns, Patrick Parlock, Pat Hanlon, Terry Feely, acob Bish, Dylan Jones, Paul Clypoole, Mike Palmer, Brad Shaffer, Isaac Paden, William Paden, John Canter, III. DNS: Josh Seippel, Barry Plowman, Pat Hanlon, II, Bill Henney, Daniele Panach, Matt Hill, Bobby Seigel.

Full Bloom 25: Tim Callahan, Todd Kougher, Jamie Tasker, Tyler Fulton, Greg Geibel, Rudy Troples, Eric Beggs, Andy Proper