Race Status

Mercer, PA
Showers in the Vicinity
Feels like: 59°F
Wind: 4mph SE
Humidity: 65%
Pressure: 29.97"Hg
UV index: 0
9 am10 am11 am12 pm1 pm

Dobrosky Dominates Racesaver 305s at Michaels Mercer Raceway; Fredericks, Rod Jones, and Shook also Win on Opening Night of Barris Trucking Memorial Summer Nationals

For Immediate Release Media Contact: Lou Long (412-760-9755) Dobrosky Dominates Racesaver 305s at Michaels Mercer Raceway; Fredericks, Rod Jones, and Shook also Win on Opening Night of Barris Trucking Memorial Summer Nationals (Mercer, PA July 12, 2019): Greg Dobrosky, of Kittanning, PA, jumped out to the early lead and went unchecked the rest of the 25 lap distance to notch the $1,500 win in the Racesaver 305 Sprint Car headliner presented at Michaels Mercer Raceway by Hards Welding and Fabrication and River Valley Butcher Block. Joining him in victory celebrations were Ryan Fredericks in the 270 Micros, Rod Jones in the Barris Trucking Modified Lites, and Shane Shook in the Ray’s Racing Collectibles and Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking Mini Stocks. The evening’s racing program was presented as night number one of the Buddy Barris Trucking Memorial Summer Nationals Sprint Car Show. Dobrosky, who has won four of six Racesaver 305 contests at Michaels Mercer Raceway this season, acknowledged “the car’s just been incredible here, every night it has been right on the money.” He added, “we’ve been working hard and changed a few things. I’ve been running the bottom in years past and it has just been perfect this year.” Dobrosky also admitted that he has enjoyed some good luck, “We’ve been so lucky on the pill draw this year; I guess I need to buy some Lottery tickets.” The luck of the draw put Dobrosky on the pole for the start of the 25 lap Racesaver 305 Sprint Car go, with Dylan Proctor by his side. Roger Irvine and Kyle Colwell had row two, with the other positions in the re-draw filled by Chad Hill and Steve Cousins. Dobrosky bolted out to the lead, followed closely by Proctor, Colwell, Irvine, Tyler Denochick, and Hill. Before the entire filed completed the second lap, however, Cousins brought his car to a stop on the backstretch and four others were involved in a skirmish in turn four. Top runners Colwell, Jacob Gomola, and Irvine were joined by third generation driver Michael Lutz, Jr. None of the racers were hurt, but Cousins was the only racer able to continue. He met up with additional trouble several laps later when he brought out the second caution of the event. At that time, Dobrosky was leading Proctor. Denochick had advanced to third, and Hill was holding down the fourth spot. Jonathon Jones and Andy Cavanaugh were fighting for fifth. The very next lap, Denochick brought out the caution, sending the teenager to the tail of the field for the restart. When the race resumed, Dobrosky continued to lead Proctor, Hill, Jones, and Cavanaugh. Randy Sterling was knocking on the door, and Chase Matheny was moving forward as well. The final seventeen laps were run off without interruption. When Dobrosky approached some slower traffic in the final rounds, that allowed Proctor to close the gap considerably. The fans were anxious to see if Proctor could get by the leader in traffic. However, Dobrosky had enough of a cushion that he was able to take the win despite having his pace slowed by the cars in front of him. Hill was third, followed by Jones and Denochick, who rallied in the final five laps. Cavanaugh was sixth, with New Yorker Mike Jackson in seventh. Stevie Kenawell, Matt Gardina, and Johnnie Walker completed the top ten. Three heats were spun off, with the wins going to Proctor, Colwell, and Cousins. There was no B Main for the seventeen car field. Hill was the evening’s fastest qualifier, with a lap of 15.372. Dobrosky, Irvine, Proctor, Matheny, and Cousins were the other hot shoes in the timed runs. In the 270 Micros, Jeff Haefke and Ryan Fredericks were battling for the lead through most of the contest. What promised to be a close finish evaporated suddenly when Haefke pulled off the turn three exit on the final lap. Thus, Fredericks went the rest of the way with no obvious challenger. Garth Fochler, C.J. Davis, Paul Young, and Tanner Price were the top five finishers. Lonnie McConahey, Dustin Young, Jim Barkes, Luke Hails, and Rich Tucker completed the top ten. The preliminaries belonged to Todd Reusser and Ryan Fredericks. There was no B Main. Rod Jones, of West Middlesex, blasted from fifth to first on the very first lap of the Modified Lite feature run under the Barris Trucking banner. Dusty Frantz settled into second, followed by Cole Petrelle, Shane Webb, Jordan Simmons, and Ayden Cipriano. Petrelle moved into second, but Vivian Jones was the racer making the most headway in the early going. She reached third on lap three and she was soon pressing Petrelle for second. She did overtake him on lap eleven. Vivian chased her dad to the finish. Petrelle crossed in third. Jacob Eakin turned in a good performance for the fourth spot, and Cipriano was fifth. Frantz, Simmons, Roman Jones, Eric Marsh, and Jacob Isenhart completed the top ten. There were a pair of heat races, won by Rod Jones and Petrelle, respectively. There was no B Main. In the Mini Stock feature, Shane Shook and Will Aley put on quite a show for the fans swapping the lead several times along the way. Tim Callahan had the best seat in the house to view that contest, but he would have rather been an active participant than a close observer. Joe Campbell came back from an early race infraction to gather the fourth place finish. Mike Porterfield rounded out the top five. Joe Romanko, early leader Phil King, Jacob McLeary, Johnny Bruce, Sr., and Dewayne Redinger held positions six through ten. A trio of heat races started the night for the racers in the Ray’s Racing Collectibles and Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking Mini Stocks. They were won by Rick Feely, Romanko, and Aley. The B Main victory went to Mike Kelley. The Buddy Barris Trucking Memorial Summer Nationals will conclude at Michaels Mercer Raceway on Saturday night, July 13, with the only 410 Winged Sprint Car race of the 2019 season. Then, on July 20, the Diehl Ram Big Block Modifieds will tackle the BRP Modified Tour in a contest that will pay $3,000 to the winner! Hard’s Welding & Fabrication and River Valley Butcher Block Racesaver 305 Sprint Cars: Greg Dobrosky, Dylan Proctor, Chad Hill, Jonathon Jones, Tyler Denochick, Andy Cavanaugh, Mike Jackson, Stevie Kenawell, Matt Gardina, Johnnie Walker, Chase Matheny, Randy Sterling, Steve Cousins, Kyle Colwell, Roger Irvine, Jacob Gomola, Mike Lutz, Jr. 270 Micros: Ryan Fredericks, Garth Fochler, C.J. Davis, Paul Young, Tanner Price, Lonnie McConahey, Dustin Young, Jim Barkes, Luke Hails, Rich Tucker, Jeff Haefke, Ivan Johnson, Wes Libert, Tom Sigley, Brian Borawiec, Noah Wiggins, Jon Wise, Todd Reusser. Barris Trucking Modified Lites: Rod Jones, Vivian Jones, Cole Petrelle, Jacob Eakin, Ayden Cipriano, Dusty Frantz, Jordan Simmons, Roman Jones, Eric Marsh, Jacob Isenhart, Tyler Purnell, Jerry Langley, Jason Gracey, Shane Webb, Robby Barris, Nathaniel Bale, Teddy Williams, Mark Marcucci (DNS). Ray’s Racing Collectibles and Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking Mini Stocks: Shane Shook, Will Aley, Tim Callahan, Joe Campbell, Mike Porterfield, Joe Romanko, Phil King, Jacob McLeary, Johnny Bruce, Sr., Dewayne Redinger, Kyle Donnelly, Mike Kelley, Ed Haylett, Summer Pitts, Daniel Hutchins, John Gill, Larry Blake, Carl Ealy, Pete Blaczak, Bucky Buchanan, William Haylett, Rick Feely (DNS), Todd Hanlon (DNS), J.J. McRae (DNS). DNQ: Justin Bailey, Cameron Hutchins, Josh Stoner, Dustina Dams, Bill Fuchs.